Osun Government Task Newly Inaugurated Committee on Sports Commission with Immediate Restructuring of Osun United and Osun Babes Football Clubs

Osun State Government has charged the recently inaugurated 9-member committee on Sports Commission with the immediate task of revamping the state-owned football clubs, Osun United and Osun Babes.

Speaking on behalf of the State Governor, Deputy Governor Prince Kola Adewusi, who also serves as the Commissioner for Sports, emphasized the urgency of preparing for the Nigerian National League, which is only days away. He stressed that the first order of business for the newly formed committee is to restructure the management boards of both Osun United and Osun Babes football clubs.

Osun United and Osun Babes

He stated, “Your first assignment is to restructure the both Osun United and Osun Babes.”

“We have experienced and proven sports administrators among you, who are best equipped for this task,” he added.

The deputy Governor noted that with the Nigerian National League approaching rapidly, there is an immediate need for the reorganization of both teams.

READ ALSO: Umuahia Township Stadium: A Cry for Change in Nigerian Football

Furthermore, he said the restructuring process should be devoid of sentiment. He said, “Select the most qualified individuals for the positions.” “Choose football technocrats/football experts who can get us results,” he added.

Addressing the poor condition of both teams, Prince Kola Adewusi expressed his dismay, saying, “It is regrettable that both teams are currently in subpar condition.

“During my visits to their camps, I witnessed deplorable conditions that nearly brought me to tears.”

“I have personally allocated funds to arrange suitable accommodations for both teams, providing all necessary amenities. Furthermore, I have ordered the installation of a training pitch in front of their new camps.”

Leading this committee is Chief Popoola Babatunde Afolayan, a seasoned and proven sports administrator hailing from Oke-Ila in Osun State.

Other committee members include:

Mr. Ademola Daini (Secretary)
Dr. Felix Owolabi MON
Chief Ademola Adeshina
Otunba Mustapha Razaq
Mr. Tunde Kazeem
Mr. Joseph Atewe
Pastor Michael Adetunji Aderemi
Mrs. Tola Usman.