Osogbo Agog As Maiden Osun School Sports Governor’s Cup Kicks Off

Excitement and Glee As Inaugural Edition Of Osun School Sports Governor’s Cup Inches To Kick-Off

As part of the overarching drive to put Osun State ahead of the curve in sports development through talent discovery and add a new dimension to sports development niche in the state, the maiden edition of the state School Sports Governor’s Cup.

Osun School Sports Governor's Cup

Ataoja School Of Science, Osogbo and Orolu Commercial High School, Ifon Osun will square things up in the official kick-off billed for 10am on Tuesday at Ataoja Sports Complex, Osogbo.

The football tournament which is being sponsored by Peculiar Ultimate Concern Limited in collaboration with School’s Sports Foundation, is meant to mainstream talent discovery in schools and designed for secondary school students participation to be hosted by the six(6) geopolitical zones of Osogbo, Ede, Ikirun, Iwo, Ife and Ilesha.

Kola Adewusi, Osun State Deputy Governor- Commissioner for Sports, and Osun State Commissioner for Education, Dipo Eluwole, are the guests of honour.

READ ALSO: AFCON 2023: Osun FA Urges Governor Adeleke to Recognize Super Eagles’ Goalkeeper Trainer, Olatunji Baruwa and Others

Speaking at the press briefing by the organizers of the competition, Coach Yomi Elijah and Alhaji Olayiwola Olafiranye of School Sports Foundation, said: “The competition will commence on Tuesday and its billed to run for two(2) weeks, subsequently it will be a state-wide annual event that will involve representatives from each of the local governments of the six(6) geopolitical zones. It will co-opt the students, principals and other sports stakeholders from each zone across the state.

“Osun State is richly blessed with a pool of talents that are waiting to be taped and the best way to go about this is discovering them from schools. This competition is modeled along that of Principals’ Cup, but with added touch to it. It will among others reduce youths involvement in delinquency and other social vices.

“Rewards will be handed out to all participating schools and six(6) top teams will qualify from the zones to the quarter finals, while two(2) best losers will be picked to complete eight(8) teams on the quarter finals. Also, logistics will be provided to all the participating schools accordingly.”

The Director of Coaching at Osun State Sports council, Ademola Daini, who was full of ecstasy and joy intoned; “The governor has approved feeders teams for the state’s football clubs and other sports across the state. This School Sports Governors Cup will solidify and straighten the synergy to produce budding talents for these feeders teams. We are deeply grateful to the sponsors and organizers of this wonderful competition.”

Meanwhile, the zonal qualifiers are to be hosted across the six(6) zones as thus:

Osogbo Zone—Ataoja School Of Science, Osogbo

Ede Zone—Ede High School, Ede.

Iwo Zone—Oluwo Stadium, Iwo

Ife Zone—Ife Anglican Grammar School, Ile-Ife

Ikirun Zone—Odo-Otin Grammar School, Okuku

Ilesha Zone— Ilesha Grammar School, Ilesha

Osogbo will host the knockout rounds and the grand finale.