Oyo Governor’s Cup 2024| Zumuratual Hujaj, Bishop Phillips Academy, Bashorun High School, Others Progress In Preliminaries.

Oyo Governor's Cup 2024

Bishop Phillips Academy, Zumuratual Hujaj School and Isale Oyo Community High School and Bashorun High School are among the first teams to progress to the next round of the Preliminary qualifiers of the Oyo State Governors Cup’.

Oyo Governor's Cup 2024

The quartet will join 29 other qualified schools in the main group-stage draw after progressing from the Ibadan North West, Ona Ara, Ibadan North East and Atiba zones respectively.

In the final of the Ibadan North East Zone, played at the Loyola College, Ibadan, Bashorun High School defeated Renascent High School 4-2 via penalties, after they both played out a 2-2 draw during normal time.

Zumuratual Hujaj School also beat their counterpart Bioku Alaadun Community Secondary School 5-4 via penalties in the final of the Ona Ara Zone. Zumuratual Hujaj School came back from the game, to force the game into penalties. In Atiba Zone, Isale Oyo Community High School won Isale Oyo Commercial Secondary School 5-4 through penalties after the game ended goalless.

Bishop Phillips Academy were 4-2 better than Urban Day Secondary School, in a game that saw the home team, Urban Day Secondary School missing alot of goalscoring chances.

Most of the final games of the Preliminary qualifiers will be played on Monday and Tuesday, across centres in the state.

The Competition is an initiative of the Schools Sports Foundation, headed by Yomi Elijah, a UK trained Football Coach and former Coach of Remo Stars, Lobi Stars, ABS FC, Kogi United and is proudly sponsored by Peculiar Ultimate Concerns, other partners are Olafiranye Sports Foundation, the Oyo State Ministry of Education, Ministry of Sports, Oyo State Sports Council, Kidzfoot Nigeria and others.