Oyo Governor’s Cup| Bishop Phillips Academy Emerge 2024 Champions As Governor Seyi Makinde Hail Organisers

The 2024 edition of the Oyo Governor’s Cup ended in Grand style with Bishop Phillips Academy, Ibadan defeating Bashorun High School 4-0 on Tuesday at the Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasingba to emerge Champions of the Competition’s maiden edition.

Bishop Phillips Academy, the alma mater of his Excellency, Governor Seyi Makinde, started the game on the front foot with attacker Kayode David at the thick of action, but the Adegboyega John led Bashorun High School defence stood resilient.

In the 8th minute, Ademola Adesina pulled out a beautiful cross for Charles Adeniyi, who wasted no time in putting it past Bashorun High School Goalkeeper Waheed Lateef, with a great header, to put Bishop Phillips ahead.

Bishop Phillips Academy doubled their lead few minutes to end of the first half, through Charles Adeniyi, who netted his second goal of the match, with another beautiful header.

Their third of the game, came in the second half, through Habeeb Babawale, who ran past two Bashorun High School defenders to beat Goalkeeper Waheed Lateef.

Lasisi Babatunde scored the last goal of the match in the 70th minute to give his Schools a very comfortable lead and assurance of being Champions of the maiden edition of the Oyo Governor’s Cup.

In his opening remarks, the Executive Governor of Oyo State, Engineer Seyi Makinde, who was ably represented by the Honourable Commissioner for Education, Professor Salihu AbdulWaheed Adelabu said, the Government of Oyo is highly impressed with the Organization of the Football Competition, noting that, the Oyo Governor’s has not only given a voice and a face to football talents across the state, but also providing hope and a veritable platform of success for the numerous talents that are being discovered, through school Sports.

Also speaking, The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of School Sports Foundation, Yomi Elijah thanked everyone that has given support to the initiative and also promised the Competition will get bigger and better in the next edition.

“We at School Sports Foundation are grateful to the State Government, the Sponsor, Peculiar Ultimate Concerns Ltd, ministry of Education, Sports and everyone that made this year’s edition a huge success.

“We hope to have a bigger competition next year, this year’s event has a been a success so far and possibly we can have more schools taking part and more games and more innovations.” He concluded.

Present were the honourable commissioner for for Education, Professor Salihu AbdulWaheed Adelabu, Commissioner for Youths and Sports, Hon. Wasilat Adegoke, Ex-Super Eagles Midfielder, Mutiu Adepoju, Oyo State FA Chairman, HRM, Oba James Odeniran, Peculiar Ultimate Concerns Project Manager, Engineer Lekan Olarenwaju, Tunde Adesanya, Special Adviser to the Governor on Sports Development, Mrs Oladipo Olubukola, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of youths and Sports and many other top dignitaries.

Over 200 teams participated in the 2024 Oyo Governor’s Cup, with Olanipekun Memorial High School emerging winners of the Third Place Playoff after defeating Government College Ibadan, 2-0.

The Competition is an initiative of the Schools Sports Foundation, headed by Yomi Elijah, a UK trained Football Coach and former Coach of Remo Stars, Lobi Stars, ABS FC, Kogi United and is proudly sponsored by Peculiar Ultimate Concerns, other partners are Olafiranye Sports Foundation, the Oyo State Ministry of Education, Ministry of Sports, Oyo State Sports Council, Kidzfoot Nigeria and others.