Excitement in Kano and Uyo as NLO Cup Commences

NLO Cup,

Sixteen grassroots teams are set to spark excitement in the cities of Kano and Uyo as the highly awaited inaugural NLO Cup commences on Friday.

The NLO Cup, generously sponsored by telecommunications giant MTN and FirstCentral Credit Bureau, is ready to showcase the best of Nigeria’s third-tier football. This grand event will unfold at the prestigious Sani Abacha Stadium and Uyo Township Stadium, offering a festive spectacle that promises to delight countless fans.

Kano, Uyo Bubbles As NLO Cup Kicks Off

The opening match on Friday between Likeminds FC versus Zeal Minds FC and Roro FC versus Jaguar FC kicks off respectively at the Sani Abacha Stadium and Uyo Township Stadium at 10 am.

Chief Operating Officer of the nation’s third-tier league and an astute grassroot football administrator per excellence, Olushola Ogunnowo spoke ahead of the kickoff.

“On behalf of the NLO, I want to express our thanks to our headline sponsors MTN and FirstCentral Credit Bureau for having faith in the NLO brand and its vision by footing the bills of the NLO Cup.

“Preparations are in top gear, as we’re set for the NLO Cup to kick off amid funfair. The 16 clubs have arrived at their different venues.

“All logistics are in place as, A-grade facilities, the (Sani Abacha Stadium and Uyo Township Stadium) have been selected, as the NLO Cup will showcase the best of Nigeria’s grassroot football to the world.

“The NLO Cup will ignite the passion and the abundant skills of our players. The 16 teams have been grouped into 1 and 2, with each having A and B of four teams each.

“After the group phases in Kano and Uyo, the overall winner in Group 1A will take on that of Group 1B in the semi-finals, the same applies with that of Uyo.

“The overall winner from Group 1 (Kano) will tackle the winner from Group 2 (Uyo) in the final on 9th December at the Bwari Stadium in Abuja.”

The NLO Cup will run from Friday 24th November to 9th December 2023.